Discovering Self-Discovery

Let me be honest for a moment: I don’t know who I am. I know some tidbits about myself, but if I were to tell you who I am, the most I’d be able to tell you is that I’m human. For the past few years, I’ve been trying this thing… it’s called Self-Discovery. When I started out, I thought this discovery would solve all my problems, that I would know exactly who I am, what I’m supposed to do for the world, why certain things are happening to me, etc. Did that happen? Well… not exactly.

*

**

*

While I’ve been discovering myself, I have learned a few things about myself, most importantly: I change, the world changes. Change is the only constant in life. I’ve discovered how I have changed and developed over these few years, how certain circumstances altered my way of thinking, how people influence me, but that’s just the surface. I’m able to name a few labels that describe who I am as a person, I can name my MBTI personality, I know what my hobbies and talents are, I’m aware of what my flaws and weaknesses are… But is that all of me? No. That’s simply the beginning, the first layer to my being, myself. Will I ever meet my true inner self? Who knows.

These few years of “discovery”… I would rather call it “development”. As I journey through life, gaining more knowledge, opening my eyes to new places, meeting new people, I’m developing myself rather than discovering. I won’t truly discover myself, but I’ll develop and change throughout life. And that change and development… that’s what I can discover. I’ll still try and discover the whole me, but if that ever happens, I’ll never know. For now, I’ve discovered change.

Sie ma! POOF!

Leave a Reply

